Webshop for a fast food restaurant

Webshop for a fast food restaurant

This project is a webshop / CMS for the fast food restaurant “Döner Ali” in Lübeck. The whole Design is created with mobile first in mind.

The customer Döner Ali has the possibility managing his products in the backend admin panel. With every order the restaurant gets an email to his added mail adresses. Addionally a delivery note will be printed over a configured printer. The customers of Döner Ali will get an order confirmation. At the moment only cash payment is accepted. For the future with an update an online payment could be possible. Also other functions like a specific email newsletter are planned.

The project was implemented with three other students within the scope of a study design project.

Doener Ali Homepage Desktop

Doener Ali CMS configurator

1. The problem

Döner Ali is a turkish fast food restaurant in Lübeck, Germany, who also delivers his food within a small radius of their locations. So far the restaurant only had a facebook site, but no website. The deliveries were accepted over phone calls.

At busy times this was a mess, because there was no clear sequence for orders over phone. Therefore sometimes orders were mistaken or the order was simply forgotten in the restaurant, while serving the guests in the restaurant.

The idea was to build a website where all delivery orders should be made to get a routine. Hereby the problems with lost customers, no customer history, stressing the employees with ringing phones, no website and special requests should be eliminated.

Doener Ali Facebook page

2. The concept

With the help of low fidelity wireframes and user flows the concept was created. The transaction and the simple user guidance with the least amount of distraction had priority.

The website should also have the purpose to show a menu. For this case the shop is automatically closed out of opening hours. The functionality for ordering in that timeframe is disabled.

Doener Ali User Flow Chart

Doener Ali Wireframe

3. The implementation

With the first implementation and testing we identified some problem fields of the first drafts. The configuration possibility within the checkout was one of them.

For an easier checkout flow we discarded the functionality in the final product, because there are enough opportunities to change products before the final checkout. The customer can now fully concentrate on the order process.

Doener Ali Slider

Doener Ali dish draft

4. The solution

The solution is a clean and friendly Design with the previously named simple user guidance. To the final version some changes were made, especially with the design. Some textures were used and the color grey was used as little as possible, because it looked rather more like a blog design than an ordering webshop for fast food. The header / slider was reduced in size, because it was too dominant.

With further testing (mainly think aloud) the checkout process was reworked and the order of the steps were changed. To design the whole product as authentic as possible photos were taken inhouse from all ingredients and dishes. As a result it is possible to incorporate those in the ingredients selection on the site.

Doener Ali basket Mobile

Doener Ali basket Desktop

Doener Ali CMS 01

Doener Ali CMS 02

Webshop fĂŒr ein Fast-Food-Restaurant

Webshop fĂŒr ein Fast-Food-Restaurant

Das Projekt umfasst die Bestellwebseite/ein CMS fĂŒr das Schnellrestaurant Döner Ali in LĂŒbeck. Dabei ist das ganze Design responsive.

Der Kunde Döner Ali hat die Möglichkeit seine Produkte im Adminpanel selber zu verwalten. Bei jeder Bestellung erhĂ€lt das Schnellrestaurant eine E-Mail an seine eingetragenen E-Mail-Adressen gesandt. ZusĂ€tzlich wird ein Lieferschein ĂŒber einen angeschlossenen Drucker im Laden ausgedruckt. Der Kunde erhĂ€lt eine BestellbestĂ€tigung. Zur Zeit ist nur Barzahlung möglich. In Zukunft kann aber auch eine Online-Bezahlung nachgerĂŒstet werden. Auch weitere Funktionen fĂŒr den E-Mail Verteiler sind geplant.

Das Projekt ist in Zusammenarbeit mit drei weiteren Studierenden im Rahmen eines Designprojektes fĂŒr das Studium entstanden.

Doener Ali Homepage Desktop

Doener Ali CMS Konfigurator

1. Das Problem

Döner Ali ist ein Schnellrestaurant in Lübeck, welches in seiner nĂ€heren Umgebung auch sein Essen liefert. Bisher hatte das Schnellrestaurant nur eine Facebook-Seite als Internetauftritt. Die Lieferungen wurden dabei nur über das Telefon in Auftrag gegeben.

Das Problem hierbei war, dass es zu stressigen Lieferzeiten keinen konkreten Ablauf für die Bestellungen über das Telefon gab. Somit kam es manchmal zu Verwechselungen oder Bestellungen wurden im LadengeschĂ€ft vergessen.

Die Idee war es, die Bestellungen auf eine Webseite auszulagern um einen geregelten Ablauf zu erhalten. Somit sollten die Probleme wie vergessene Kunden, keine Kundenhistorie, Belastung der Mitarbeiter durch stĂ€ndig klingelndes Telefon, keine InternetprĂ€senz, Sonderwünsche der Kunden behoben werden.

Doener Ali Facebook Seite

2. Das Konzept

In groben Wireframes und Userflows wurde das Konzept erarbeitet. Im Vordergrund steht dabei der Kaufabschluss und eine einfache Benutzerführung mit möglichst wenig Ablenkung.

Die Webseite sollte neben der Hauptaufgabe, der Bestellung, zudem als Speisekarte dienen. In diesem Fall kann der Shop außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten geschlossen werden. Dabei fĂ€llt die komplette Warenkorb-Funktion weg und entsprechende Buttons werden ausgeblendet.

Doener Ali User Flow Chart

Doener Ali Wireframe

3. Die Umsetzung

Bei der Umsetzung haben sich einige Problemfelder der ersten Entwürfe durch Tests herausgestellt. Zum Beispiel, die Konfigurationsmöglichkeit im Checkout.

Für einen einfachen Checkoutflow wurde die Funktion im finalen Produkt entfernt, da zuvor genügend Möglichkeiten zur Konfiguration gegeben sind. Der Kunde kann sich im Checkout voll auf den eigentlichen Bestellprozess konzentrieren.

Doener Ali Slider

Doener Ali Gerichte Entwurf

4. Die Lösung

Die Lösung ist ein ĂŒbersichtliches, helles und frisches Design mit der zuvor genannten einfachen BenutzerfĂŒhrung. Bis zur finalen Version wurden dabei noch einige Änderungen, vor allen Dingen am Design vorgenommen. So wurden Texturen eingesetzt und versucht, das zuvor verwendete grau möglichst wenig zu verwenden, da dieses eher nach einem Blogdesign, als einer Bestellseite fĂŒr Essen aussah. Der Header/Slider Bereich wurde in der Höhe verkleinert, da dieser eine geringere Relevanz hat.

In weiteren Tests wurde auch der Checkoutprozess ĂŒberarbeitet und die Reihenfolge geĂ€ndert. Um das Gesamtprodukt so authentisch wie möglich zu gestalten, wurde von allen Zutaten und Gerichten Bilder vor Ort erstellt. Somit ist es möglich diese bei der Zutatenabwahl einzubinden.

Doener Ali Warenkorb Mobile

Doener Ali Warenkorb Desktop

Doener Ali CMS 01

Doener Ali CMS 02